Tracklist for Bruce Springsteen's new album 'Wrecking Ball' hints at The Boss' anger

Thursday, 19 January 2012 16:42
springsteenBruce041111_optBY ADELE SAMMARCO

The Boss is back and better than ever.

Bruce fans get ready for Springsteen’s 17th studio album in March, one of the most anticipated releases of 2012.

Calling it his "angriest" recordings as of yet, his feature single, “We take care of our own”, sounds anything but mad, yet reflective of the issues of our hard economic times.

According to, a source who spoke to the Hollywood Reporter, "He gets into economic justice quite a bit. It's very rock'n'roll. He feels it's the angriest album he's ever made."

The insider added, "The Boss" wrote and recorded the majority of the album before the Occupy movements started around the world "so he's not just setting headlines to music."

The album is entitled, “Wrecking Ball,” dedicated to the old Giants Stadium in East Rutherford inside the Meadowlands Sports Complex that was demolished in 2010. The site is now called MetLife Stadium, which lies adjacent to the former sports arena.

The album is politically charged and acknowledges the current state of America. Springsteen’s Manager Jon Landau tells Rolling Stone the disc has "social overtones" and a "very pronounced spiritual dimension. It extends and deepens the vision that has animated all of Bruce's work.”

Music enthusiasts are calling his latest work “vintage” Springsteen, which includes unexpected textures, loops and electronic percussion with influences ranging from hip-hop to Irish folk rhythms.

First listeners are already labeling it 'terrific', according to

No release date has been officially set yet, but Springsteen is scheduled to deliver the keynote address at the South by Southwest music conference on March 15 in Texas. Critics are hoping the album will be released to coincide with that appearance.

But according to iTunes, fans won't have to wait that long, Wrecking Ball will be out in England on March 5 and in the United States on March 6.

Rolling Stone says the album was produced by Ron Aniello, who has worked with Bruce’s wife, Patti Scialfa, and Candlebox, and features guest appearances from Tom Morello and drummer Matt Chamberlain.

Springsteen's last album, 'The Promise', was released in November 2010, and was a double CD compilation of previously unreleased songs drawing from the “Darkness On The Edge Of Town” early sessions of the late 1970's.

It was just last year the E Street Band lost their beloved saxophone player, Clarence Clemons, who died from complications after a stroke at age 69.


Bruce Springsteen's new album, tour will be first without Clarence Clemons

Clemons, fondly referred to as "The Big Man", played a central part in Springsteen’s music, complementing the group’s electric guitar and brass rhythms in songs like “Born to Run” and “Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out”, that echo doo-wop, soul and early rock ’n’ roll.

The band has announced UK tour dates for June and July.

You can listen to "We Take Care Of Our Own" on Springsteen's official website:

The single is now available for digital purchase through Amazon.

Consequence of Sound provided Wrecking Ball’s track-list:

01. We Take Care of Our Own

02. Easy Money

03. Shackled and Down

04. Jack of All Trades

05. Death to My Hometown

06. The Depression

07. Wrecking Ball

08. You’ve Got It

09. Rocky Ground

10. Land of Hope and Dreams

11. We Are Live

12. Swallowed Up (iTunes Bonus Track)

13. American Land (iTunes Bonus Track)