New Jersey sues travel club companies for consumer fraud

Thursday, 11 June 2009 13:41
Print

airplane061109_optDivision of Consumer Affairs filed lawsuit in Superior Court

The state Division of Consumer Affairs announced Thursday it has filed a lawsuit in state Superior Court against travel club companies operating under several different names, charging they failed to provide any services to consumers and misrepresented their relationship with hotel, airline and through the unauthorized use of their logos.

Named as defendants are Dreamworks Vacation Club, which is also known as Dreamworks Vacations and Dreamworks, Five Points Travel Co. and Bentley Travel. They are accused of depicting specific resorts, regions and packages in mailings and sales presentations that, in actuality, were not available to consumers. Also named is Daryl T. Turner, the owner and operator of all the companies.

The investigation that led to the state's action began with the Burlington County Consumer Affairs Local Assistance office, and was referred to the Division of Consumer Affairs for joint investigation. Burlington Consumer Affairs Director Renee L. Borstad joined state Consumer Affairs Director David Szuchman in Cherry Hill to announce the lawsuit.

"We believe the defendants had no intention of providing the advertised travel services,'' Szuchman said. "They lured consumers in with promises of deep discounts, free gifts and misrepresentations about their affiliation with respected corporations, all for the purposes of defrauding consumers and enriching themselves."

"Dreamworks and its other vacation clubs offered a ‘dream' vacation that was too good to be true,'' Borstad said. "Consumers must realize that high-pressure sales tactics, coupled with prepaid vacation packages, plus freebee airline ticket offers are always a dangerous combination."

In addition to not providing the contracted-for travel packages, the defendants also did not provide the free gifts that consumers were led to believe they would receive, including seven-day cruises, round-trip airline tickets for two, hotel stays, free dinners, car rentals and free gas coupons. When consumers contacted the "800" telephone number listed on the mailings to claim their gifts, they were informed that they had to attend a 90-minute sales presentation for vacation packages. Even if they attended the presentations, consumers were not provided with the gifts.

Consumers paid $1,200 to $8,000 upfront to purchase a vacation package, but were not provided with the airline, hotel or other travel arrangements at the price and quality represented by defendants prior to purchase.

Dreamworks and Five Points Travel Company have business and mailing addresses in Parsippany, Sewell in Gloucester County; and Westampton in Burlington County. Bentley Travel is not incorporated to do business in New Jersey. Turner's address of record is in Cherry Hill.

The state's eight-count complaint, filed in Superior Court in Morristown, alleges the defendants violated the Consumer Fraud Act and Advertising Regulations by:

— TOM HESTER SR., NEWJERSEYNEWSROOM.COM

 
Comments (35)
35 Thursday, 02 January 2014 15:14
Chris Nomate
Got a card in the mail today. Exact same sort of deal with Carnival. Exact wording on the card as previous offers. This time Toll free was 877-563-7517. Small Logo on the card stated it was Sponsored by Cruise Advisor.

When will these companies get shut down????
34 Monday, 15 August 2011 19:18
Relieved
Thank you so much for your posts! I knew it just had to be a scam, but so wanted it to be as easy as a 90 minute presentation to get a free cruise.

I'm sorry for those of you who've been taken already. I will throw the card away now. My husband will be relieved that I'm not dragging him to it now.
33 Thursday, 23 June 2011 20:35
Edwina
Thanks for sharing this information, we almost went....but now won't!

The Michigan name is Pure Vacations and they plan to be at the Westin Hotel Southfield in Michigan: 1500 Town Center, 48075; Nicolette Room, 2nd floor.

Thanks again!
32 Thursday, 09 June 2011 05:38
Checked for myself
It appears that they are now in Michigan. We were sent a postcard that was from Buckeye Vacations in Ohio, but when we arrived they told us they were with Pure Vacations in Michigan. We went to find out about the free cruise. We said no to the purchase, the price was cut in half. We said no again, they lowered it further. We were told that we had to buy THAT night, within minutes of hearing of what they were selling. I asked for time to look them up with the Better Business Bureau and they became upset. They said "You can trust us, we are very trustworthy!" I had to fight hard not to laugh in their faces. 3 different sales people tried to get me to buy the package, one was added each time I said no. This was a part of their "no pressure " sales pitch. The "free cruise" is in the form of more paperwork and fees as others have mentioned on here. They are also saying that access to Restaurants.com is a part of their paid services. This is a free website that ANYONE can join without paying thousands of dollars. Beware!
31 Saturday, 04 June 2011 19:20
Waterford Michigan
SCAM, SCAM, SCAM... new address, new name.
Buckeye Vacations
18615 Detroit Rd ST. B
Lakewood, OH 44107

Thanks for the heads up everyone to bad that these guys can keep operating ater YEARS. Sounds like they set up shop in one state and send their postcards accross statelines to avoid local prosecution.
Unfortunate for them by doing this it takes it to a FEDRAL LEVEL and used the mail system to defraud consumers.

I have no standing here I did not call them or go to a meeting. If you have lost money you need to contact an lawyer and file on a Federal level.
30 Tuesday, 19 April 2011 18:19
Le6
I keep reading about how everyone was "scammed" or "burned", but how? I want to know is anyone actually got and took the cruise that was offered? If so, what was the end cost to you? Even at 500 bucks, it's a cruise man! Nothing in life is free... The BBB says this place, while not accredited, has made "good faith attempts" to resolve the complains with the customers on file. It's not the companies fault if people don't read what they are signing or have buyers remorse...
29 Friday, 04 March 2011 22:47
NOT STUPID
They have now traveled to Mansfield, Ma. Under the name Premium Destinations. Complimentary Carnival 8 day/7night Cruise for 2 with an outside cabin bla,bla.. The phone number is 877-491-0468, also 877-491-0469 (ck out the thread on the 0469 number!!) Do not attend the seminar! Do not fall for the SCAM.
28 Thursday, 10 February 2011 14:31
BarbW
just found this article while researching Travel Deals
http://www.nj.com/camden/index.ssf/2011/02/travel_company_owner_to_reimbu.htm Stay as far away as possible !l
27 Thursday, 27 January 2011 12:47
NJ resident
Got my free cruise in the mail and want to know has any one ever been on this free cruise and the airline tickets. If what they say is real its a good deal only if it real. Someone please repsond back.
26 Wednesday, 26 January 2011 13:57
kk;k;l,;l;l;l
nnklmnklmk;lm;lm;l
25 Tuesday, 09 November 2010 14:47
Marshall Stand
I too purchased a membership from this club, but have had only a few small problems with dates. After doing some research and asking for help, the assistant manager was very helpful and put me in contact with people to help me. Since then, no worries. You people need to realize that you actually have to do a little on your own.
24 Monday, 08 November 2010 17:26
Mike Smalley
I just got a postcard in the mail, offering a free cruise from this con artist. There is a large photo of a Carnival Cruise Lines ship on the front. Why isnt Carnival suing this guy? Furthermore, they use US AIRLINE's insignia on the back of the card...Another copyright infringement...Again, No lawsuit? But by far, my biggest question: How in the world did all of you people get suckered into paying for this scam? I simply Googled the toll free number on the postcard, and was directed right to this site! Good thing there's no penalty for being stupid!
23 Saturday, 06 November 2010 23:51
Bob, Media Pa
My wife and I didn't fall for the Travel Club Scam. We only went to get the free cruise and airfare which has fees they tell you about over the phone. I'm glad I checked them out here and read all the complaints, we almost fell for the free cruise. I feel sorry for the couples that did fall for it today they got at lease 3 couples out of five today before we got out of there. They didn't like when I said no to there offer, the young kid salesman called the manager in to try his hand with no luck. He got a little wise with us. The full price was almost 9,000, the manager ask if would do it for 2,000 I said no, would do it for 1,200 I said no, would you do 500 no again, so he said goodbye and left the room,
22 Thursday, 04 November 2010 22:38
Joe , Brick NJ
I plan on going to as many as I find out about. Keep posting the new locations.
Lets put some heat on them.

the more the merrier. Joe
21 Wednesday, 03 November 2010 19:15
Concerned citizen
The new address for them is 110 Marlton Center Boulevard, Marlton, NJ 08053. There is a meeting scheduled for Friday November 5, 2010 at 8:00PM.

Show up if you believe this is a scam or not.
20 Monday, 27 September 2010 18:27
Dave & Barbara Wence
Still haven't heard from anyone that possibly could help us with the $3500.00 scam with Blue Water Gateway.
19 Wednesday, 22 September 2010 12:25
Dan C
We just attended one last night (9/21/2010) in Marlton NJ. The company's new name is Travel Deals. Zack was the presenter. We didn't fall for it. Good luck
18 Tuesday, 14 September 2010 14:07
D talley
Both owned by same person Daryl Turner. He is also being sued by the PA Attorney General's Ofc and under investigation at local news stations. Throw away any post cards you receive and do not go to any presentations.. These companies are a complete scam! We need to let the casinos know that they're using for their presentations, that this is a huge scam,and about the # of people complaining that have been hurt by this! NJ BBB says they're not accepting any more complaints about this-are they kidding me? We all need to start making some noise!!
17 Monday, 13 September 2010 16:53
David & Barbara Wence
We were also taked for $3500.00. PLEASE SOMEONE HELP US, WE'RE OLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
856-287-0943
16 Thursday, 29 July 2010 22:03
Lulu
Glad I did my research. Just got off the phone with their representative who claimed she was out of Daytona, Fl. Scheduled my meeting with them but I guess I will no longer be attending. Apparently, they will be in the Resorts Casino, 13th floor of the Ocean Tower the next week. Supposedly, the Egg Harbor office is being renovated and that's why they are jumping from casino to casino. Makes no sense to me. I knew it was to good to be true.
15 Wednesday, 28 July 2010 18:53
Lucy from NJ
I also got the card and called to see what it was about. I have done a time share before, so I am well aware of their process. What I don't understand is, why doesn't the lawyer get a police office to "go undercover" and arrest them at one of the meetings? Seems like a quick fix.
Any suggestions?
14 Tuesday, 27 July 2010 20:19
thehat
We got the same post card and called. They appear to be changing some of their tactics due to the litigation but basically the same proposal. They will be in Atlantic City at Resorts Hotel and Casino on the 13th floor Friday at 4 and 6 PM and Saturday at 1 PM. Hopefully someone with a warrant is reading this and will attend.
13 Wednesday, 14 July 2010 15:14
LARRY MILSON
WHEN YOU THINK ITS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE; MOST TIMES ITS TRUE, WITH THIS COMPANY IT APPEARS TO BE A TOTAL SCAM, IM GLAD I RESEARCHED THERE COMPANY TO FIND ABOUT ALL THE CLASS ACTION SUITES PENDING AGAINST THEM, ALWAYS RESEARCH GOOD LUCK, LM,
12 Tuesday, 13 July 2010 14:36
Carlo & Irene Morsella
Received card regarding COMPLIMENTARY cruise for two on any major cruise line (no timeshare or land sale offer). Called to see if this was on the up and up and was told we needed to meet with company representative in Atlantic City to receive our cruise and free airfare. Telephone rep really pushed the issue and told us to call another 800 number to confirm our appointment for Wednesday, 7/13, in Atlantic City to book our cruise and that there would be an initial $50 fee and, of course port charges, etc. were additional.

Checked on computer today for address for Blue Water Gateway Travel and was sent to this website for travel consumer fraud. Glad we did not follow through on this and hope all those who have been taken advantage of receive just restitution.
11 Tuesday, 06 July 2010 21:40
Forked River, NJ
We just came from a presentation - Blue Water Gateway because of a postcard we received for an 8 day, 7 night free cruise. We paid $3,500 for a 3 week lifetime vacations. Luckily for us when we returned home from Atlantic City our credit card company called to see if we authorized the amount of $3,500. They stopped our payment and also put our card on temporary hold until we cancel it and receive a new card with new numbers to avoid the $199. fee due in February. It is a lesson that we learned to research before you go not after you go!!!!
10 Monday, 03 May 2010 10:01
Eileen and Francis Connor Sr
I believe we were scammed also. Please Help!
609 567 3086
9 Wednesday, 07 April 2010 12:57
Jean Pultorak
If you were scammed and signed up for either of these vacation clubs and cannot find or reach anyone, DVI's REAL address is 69 Kirkwood Rd. Gibbsboro NJ 08026. It is a small office with a few employees answering the phone. They guard this address and give out PO box addresses that rarely get checked.
8 Monday, 01 March 2010 01:02
Scamming again
They are back in business and they are using the alias BLUE WATERS located 501 Scarborough Dr, Egg Harbor NJ. The same guy Daryl Turner was there acting as the manager.
7 Sunday, 22 November 2009 17:05
Melvin
A state class action has been filed against Dreamworks Vacation Club, by Deputy Attorney General Gina M. Betts, of the NJ Consumer Protection Division. She may be contacted at (973) 648-3070.

Also, a private class action has also been filed in the US District Court of New Jersey. The attorney handling that case is as follows:

GARY MARTIN MEYERS
LAW OFFICES OF G. MARTIN MEYERS, PC
35 WEST MAIN STREET
SUITE 106
DENVILLE, NJ 07834
(973) 625-0838
Email: gmm@gmeyerslaw.com
6 Wednesday, 11 November 2009 23:43
scamedtoo
If you are the victims of this travel scam, please visit this websit http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-800-313-5023/14. The website has some advices on how to get your money back. Some people there are organizing a protest against this company.
5 Thursday, 01 October 2009 13:25
Terry Flaten
total scam do not join we got burned for $5700.00
4 Monday, 21 September 2009 16:01
BG
I just visited their location in Parsipanny. The office is closed, seems to be empty with no sign on the door.

The phone number is disconnected. Same for the PA location.
3 Friday, 28 August 2009 09:01
Jack Davis
I'm in the same boat. They will not deliver on their promises. And no response to registered letters to any of the 4 companies that they call themselves.

Any info on the lawsuit would be appreciated.
2 Thursday, 27 August 2009 20:30
K.Odonnell
They will not even return a call. Their business is an answering machine.
SOMEONE needs to put these people behind bars.
They have taken my dreams and created nightmares.
I am part of the civil action suit and have an attorney.
I hope they get their just desert!
1 Tuesday, 25 August 2009 03:56
David Bulka- West Caldwell NJ
Dream works ripped us off also
How can I join the lawsuit?
We tried to get our money back from our credit card company
We tried to book the free Hawaii trip they offered for signing up
But Nothing but false promises. Dream works disappeared
Then Five points took it's place adn now Bentley travel -How can we get our money back- Please help us
Mr Bulka - Please call us 973-228-1716
we live in West Caldwell NJ
yvComment v.1.20.0