N.J. motor vehicle director leaving to join casino control panel | State | NewJerseyNewsroom.com -- Your State. Your News.


Jun 02nd
  • Login
  • Create an account
  • Search
  • Local Business Deals

N.J. motor vehicle director leaving to join casino control panel

harringtons061209_optBY TOM HESTER SR.

Sharon Harrington, administrator of the state Motor Vehicle Commission, is preparing to leave the $140,000 a-year job by the end of the month to become a member of the Atlantic City-based state Casino Control Commission.

Gov. Jon Corzine nominated Harrington to the $125,000 a-year five-year post Thursday and Mike Horan, an MVC spokesman, confirmed Friday she is preparing to switch posts. The nomination is expected to be approved by the Democratic-controlled Senate before it adjourns for the summer by June 30.

Harrington, of Trenton, was named MVC administrator by Gov. James McGreevey and reappointed by Corzine in 2006. Veteran MVC Deputy Chief Administrator Shawn Sheekey will replace her, Horan said.

Harrington will replace Democrat Ralph G. Frulio of Berkeley Township on the Casino Control Commission. The agency oversees Atlantic City's $4.5 billion casino industry.

Corzine also nominated attorney Douglas A. Wheeler of Metuchen to head the state Division of Insurance, James R. Matarazzo of North Caldwell to the Essex County Board of Taxation and David Halpern of Livingston and Joan Verplancj of Pennington to the Kean University Board of Trustees.

He nominated Margaret Westfield of Haddon Heights to the state Historical Commission and Meme Omogbai of Franklin, Somerset County, to the state Historic Sites Commission, Barbara "Kent'' Manahan of Morristown to the state Broadcasting Authority, Thomas Tucci Jr. of Nutley to the state Lottery Commission and Thomas P. Haaf of Pilesgrove to the state Parole Board.

Assemblywoman Joan M. Quigley (D-Hudson) of Jersey City to the American Indian Implementation Advisory Council, Richard Dressel of Oakland to the Bergen County Community College Board of Trustees, Stacey LG Jennings of South Orange to the Essex County Community College Board of Trustees, Shawn Clark of Branchburg and the Rev. John Graf Jr. of Bedminster to the Raritan Valley Community College Board of Trustees.


Add your comment

Your name:

Follow/join us

Twitter: njnewsroom Linked In Group: 2483509